Preparations are well underway for 2021 and Rally Challenge promoters Maesteg and District Motor Club are delighted by the response from event organisers to be part of next year’s Championship.

We may have a new name but we retain the enthusiastic backing of the same team that owned FMP through their new venture based in Swansea.

The growing company has a fleet of vehicles serving South and West Wales with paint and refinishing supplies to Automotive, Commercial, Industrial and Marine customers.

Claire’s Rallying Masterpieces

For the first time since the inception of the Rally Challenge back in 2013, we have the pleasure of welcoming a Guest Writer. We invited Ammanford Co-driver Claire Williams who was our inaugural Rally Challenge Champion to give us a detailed insight into the background of her extraordinary artistic talent which she combines with her passion for the sport.

Read Claire’s full article here.



Tom Eyes Up His Options for 2021

Back in 2015, Maesteg and District Motor Club received enquiries about the running of its next Autotest from a Dad in Rudbaxton who was keen for his son to get enough signatures to allow him to gain a Competition License. As their next event was a few weeks away, Pembrokeshire Motor Club put one on especially for 14 year old so that he could then compete on his first rally, The McCrae Stages at Knockhill. Read Tom’s full story here 

The Cambrian Moves to October

North Wales Car Club have had overwhelming support on their decision to move the Visit Conwy Cambrian Rally from its now traditional February date to the end of the season.

Click here for more details.


Three Year Welsh Forest Rallying Deal Agreed

The Future of Rallying in the forests of Wales has been secured for three years with the announcement of a deal struck with National Resources Wales in September.  Read more here .

Resumption of Rallying takes its First Step

Champ Stoneman heads for Cumbria.

Triple Champ Mains Irish Plans Scuppered

Get full story here 

For the statement regarding our ongoing commitment to contenders and our loyal sponsor, plus our support of Wales Air Ambulance despite the cancellation, please click here.

IPS Paint Supplies

IPS Paint can supply all your motor, commercial, industrial and marine paints and sundries.

Please visit the IPS Paint Website for the full range of products and delivery services or call 01792 784078.

Scottish Crew Take the Lead on their Journey to the Sun

Current leading driver Tom Coughtrie first got his passion for rallying when the RAC Rally passed through his Scottish village in the mid sixties. Three years after following the progress of Andrew Cowan’s London to Sydney Marathon victory in 1968 he took to the navigator’s seat. Along with Mull Co-driver Ian Fraser he had an unexpected weekend on the Rally Classico, Mallorca. Click here for his story.

Busy Times for our Rally Challenge Charity

Wales Air Ambulance is the main benefactor of Maesteg and District Motor Club’s money raising efforts. This week marks the fifth anniversary of including Consultants and Critical Care Staff on missions. Rally Challenge Co-ordinator Terry Frayne caught up with Head of Communications Steve Stokes to find out WAA’s current role and how the current crisis is affecting the Charity. Click here to find out more.

Photo by Mike Frayne

Champ Tom off to a Flying Start

Current Junior Rally Challenge Champion, nineteen year old Tom Llewellin and Peredur Davies swooped to Class victory with an impressive Top Ten finish on the season opener. For the story (click here) and results please (click here)

Will’s Historic Third Win

Three times Rally Challenge Champion Will Mains marked the end of an era when he accepted his Awards at The Maesteg and District Motor Club Annual Presentation Night.

With Independent Paint Supplies now pledging its continued backing to the Club, Will was presented with the Perpetual Cup which he will now keep to mark his achievement.

For more on the Presentation Night please click here

Launch of the 2020 Independent Paint Supplies Rally Challenge

Directors Dom Thomas, Joe Thomas and Stephanie White were welcomed in December by Steffan Anderson-Thomas of Wales Air Ambulance for the official launch of the 2020 Independent Paint Supplies Rally Challenge.  Read more here 

I am pleased to inform you that we are able to donate over £4000 to Wales Air Ambulance thanks to your support in 2019. If you intend to register in 2020 then please state so on Rally Entry Forms.

Previous Champions

 xxxxxxxxxDriver                                           Co-Driver

2013             Thomas  ‘TC’ Lloyd                     Claire Williams

2014             Jason Hodge                                Mark Crisp

2015             Morgan Handford                      Chris Williams

2016             Wynne Watkins                          Siobhan Pugh

2017             William Mains                             Dawn England

2018             William Mains                             Paul Wakely

2019             William Mains                             Rhys Stoneman

2020             Tom Coughtrie*                          Ian Fraser* Leaders at time of cancellation*

Click here for Qualifying Rounds 2020 

After giving their support by frequently publishing  Rally Challenge articles, and in recognition of our fund raising efforts for Wales Air Ambulance we are delighted that Pacenotes Rally Magazine is officially associated  for 2020.

The Independent Paint Supplies Rally Challenge is open to members of all Motorsport UK registered Motor Clubs and will be supporting Wales Air Ambulance on an ongoing basis.